Yvan Vollmy, an atypical optician …

Precious stones, natural and unfamiliar materials, sometimes filled with prehistory… Yvan Vollmy masters the delicate art of dressing up the eye by relying on an exclusivity that promises originality.

Renowned far and wide, this aesthete has abandoned the idea of settling in Lausanne or Geneva, preferring the gentle way of life in Rolle over the commercial assets of chic urban districts. The distance is all relative for this optician as atypical as he is fiercely independent (he is bound to none of the groups that spring up everywhere), who attracts a discerning international clientele in the heart of the Lemanic Basin.

Yvan Vollmy’s success is summed up in few words: passion for the craft, exclusivity and quality of advice.

It is his passion that drove him to choose the difference in his quest for articles that are not found on everybody’s nose. Then again, one had to get off the beaten path… Hence he patiently tracked down master craftsmen who work on eyeglasses frames using the most unexpected of natural materials.

Expression of eternity

His first discovery led him to offer frames made of mammoth ivory. Perfectly preserved, mammoth tusks dating back 10,000 to 25,000 years are found in ample quantities in the Siberian ground. Their ivory, coming from the earth and threatening no endangered species, is assimilated to a mineral by the Washington Convention. As eyeglasses frames, mammoth ivory can be inlaid with coral, gold nuggets, amber, etc.

Another unusual discovery was shagreen (the hide of a shark or ray), which owes its discovery to the master sheath-maker of King Louis XV, who was the first to use this elegant and mysterious fabric to adorn the most precious objects.

An eye for nature

At Yvan Vollmy, one also finds glasses in cannabis, in cockspur leather, or even in peacock feathers whose iridescent green and blue gleams work wonders on eyes of the same colour. Furthermore, a Swiss artisan provides him Kashmir buffalo horn frames featuring many nuances of grey, black and beige hues for timeless and highly refined glasses. Also worthy of note is the new Gold & Wood collection associating horn, gold and precious stones, with custom finishing.


All these eyeglasses frames are bespoken, and they are produced within six weeks in the chosen material, with or without inlays.

Not to forget of course the perfect adaptation of the optical glass, but at Yvan Vollmy, seduction and aesthetics succeed in making us forget the essential functional aspect of eyeglasses!

Last but not least, this optician like no other represents leading brands in the jewellery-spectacle trade (Chopard, Boucheron) as well as most of the other brands on the market.

Yvan Vollmy, un opticien atypique …

Pierres précieuses, matières naturelles et insolites, parfois chargées de préhistoire… Yvan Vollmy est passé maître dans l’art délicat d’habiller le regard, en misant sur une exclusivité gage d’originalité.

Connu loin à la ronde, cet esthète a renoncé à s’installer à Lausanne ou à Genève, préférant la douceur de vivre de Rolle à l’attrait commercial des quartiers urbains chics. Un éloignement tout relatif pour cet opticien aussi atypique que farouchement indépendant (il n’est lié à aucun des groupes qui fleurissent un peu partout), qui attire une clientèle exigeante et internationale au coeur de l’arc lémanique.

Le succès d’Yvan Vollmy tient en peu de mots: passion du métier, exclusivité et qualité du conseil.

C’est sa passion qui l’a conduit à opter pour la différence et pour la quête d’articles que l’on ne retrouve pas sur le nez de tout le monde. Encore fallait-il sortir des sentiers battus… Il a donc patiemment déniché des maîtres artisans travaillant la monture de lunettes dans les matériaux naturels les plus inattendus.

Expression d’éternité

Sa première découverte l’a conduit à proposer des montures en ivoire de mammouth. Parfaitement conservées, les défenses de mammouth se trouvent en grande quantité dans les terres de Sibérie et datent de 10’000 à 25’000 ans. Leur ivoire, provenant de la terre et ne menaçant aucune espèce en voie de disparition, est assimilé à un minerai par la Convention de Washington. En montures de lunettes, l’ivoire de mammouth peut être incrusté de corail, de pépites d’or, d’ambre, etc.

Autre découverte insolite, le galuchat (peau de requin ou de raie) qui doit son nom au maître-gainier du roi Louis XV, le premier à utiliser cette matière élégante et mystérieuse pour habiller les objets les plus précieux.

La nature au coin des yeux

Chez Yvan Vollmy, on trouve aussi des lunettes en cannabis, en cuir d’ergot de coq ou encore en plume de paon aux reflets irisés verts et bleus, qui font merveille sur les yeux de même couleur. Un artisan suisse lui fournit en outre des montures en corne de buffle du Cachemire, autant de nuances dans les tons gris, noirs et beiges, pour des lunettes intemporelles et très raffinées. A noter encore la nouvelle collection Gold & Wood, associant corne, or et pierres précieuses, avec finition à choix.

Sur mesure

Toutes ces montures de lunettes sont sur mesure, et ensuite réalisées dans un délai de six semaines dans le matériau souhaité, avec incrustations ou non.

Sans oublier bien entendu l’adaptation parfaite du verre optique, mais chez Yvan Vollmy, la séduction et l’esthétisme vont jusqu’à faire oublier l’essentiel côté fonctionnel des lunettes !

Relevons enfin que cet opticien vraiment pas comme les autres représente les marques phares de la lunetterie-joaillerie (Chopard, Boucheron) ainsi que la plupart des autres marques sur le marché.